Main Menu

All international flights will be reduced

Radio & TV Tonga, Nuku’alofa, 18/03/2020

The US, Australia and Japan are included in the list of 46 countries that are restricted entry into Tonga as stated on the 5th travel advisory. These are countries that have 60 or more confirmed cases of coronavirus.

The new travel advisory was effective this morning.

The Hon. Prime Minister says, the government is working closely with related stakeholders to ensure the port of entries are protected from COVID-19.

The travel advisory no. 5 states that all travelers, who upon arrival in Tonga, qualifies a suspect case of COVID-19 as determined by the Ministry of Health Border Control Team in accordance with the Declaration of an Emergency Notifiable Condition, shall comply with their directions and undergo 14 days quarantine in Tongatapu.

For foreign travelers, the Ministry of Health shall notify and work with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs to liaise, if needed, with the relevant authorities of the country of citizenship of the foreign traveler.

The vessel operators and airlines operating in Tonga are advised not to allow boarding of any passenger with symptoms of COVID-19 and shall report to the Ministry of Health the presence of any sick person on board as per requirements under the International Heath Regulations (2005).

All international flights and vessels entering Tonga shall use Tongatapu as the first port of entry for border screening prior to re-routing to outer islands.

All international flights from Australia, Fiji, and New Zealand to Tonga will be reduced. The international cruise ships and yachts scheduled to arrive after the 19th of March 20202 shall not be granted entry into Tonga until further notice.

Meanwhile, Health Minister urges public especially travelers from overseas to be honest when filling out their arrival declaration forms.

© Radio and Television Tonga News